February 2018 Wrap Up & Goals Update

Hello!

I read 8 books in the month of February – which if you think about it, is pretty amazing! I mean, I’m almost on track to read 100 books this year.

Anyway, let’s talk about the 8 books I finished in February!

  • The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden ★★★★
  • Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare ★★★
  • Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young ★★★★
  • Batman: Nightwalker by Marie Lu ★½
  • Gemina by Amie Kaufmann & Jay Kristoff ★★★★
  • The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black ★★★★
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling ★★★★★
  • Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead ★★★★★

All of the reviews I have already made are linked above! I am still working on a few more, but this TBR post really couldn’t wait any longer (it’s almost April for Pete’s sake).

In terms of monthly and year-to-date goals, let’s see how I did!

IMG_8903

Reading Goals

Read more pages than last year.

I read 3,689 pages this month, and I read 2,788 pages in February of 2017, meaning I read 901 more pages than February of last year!

In terms of year to date, I have read 6,991 pages this year and 8,149 last year (I had a very strong January 2017), so I am still trailing in this aspect.

Regardless, my overall goal is simply to read more pages than last year. In order to do that, I have to average 2,179 pages a month, which I am definitely beating (beating by over 2,500 pages, I might add).  Hooray!

Read about 50 books. 

I want to read at least 50 books this year, which boils down to 4.2 books a month.

Since I read 8 books this month, I am definitely beating this goal! I read 7 books in February of last year, so I am also doing a little better than I was then, too!

Year to date I have read 15 books, whereas I only needed to read 8.4 books by now to meet my goal. However, by this time last year I had read 22 books (again, that strong January of 2017). So, while I haven’t quite caught up to where I was, I am meeting my goals!

Read at least 1 classic.

Nope, still haven’t done that! Unless HP counts 😉

Reread Harry Potter 4+5 and read Harry Potter 6+7 for the first time. 

Speaking of Harry Potter, I did read HP #4! I am slowing making my way!

Reread Vampire Academy 1-3 and read 4-6 for the first time.

I did finish Shadow Kiss (book #3) this month and plan on reading Blood Promise in March! Slowly making my way through this series.

Start the Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead.

Still working on Vampire Academy  before I get to this series.

Be more open about rereading books.

Technically HP is a reread, but otherwise I haven’t read anything else. I still feel pretty open, but there is nothing I really need or want to reread right now.

Read at least 15% “adult” books.

I would consider The Bear and the Nightingale to be an adult book, which means I read 1 adult book out of 8 total, or 12.5% – slightly below my goal. Looking at my year to date, I have read 3 adult books out of 15, or 20%. I am pretty happy with my progress!

Make sure 75% of the books I read in 2018 are ones I owned before 2018 (or books from subscription boxes).

I had previously owned most of these books, but some of them are new. Sky in the Deep is an ARC I borrowed from a friend (so at least I didn’t buy it). Batman: Nightwalker came in a subscription box. I do not own Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, so I borrowed this from the library.  I am only purchasing first edition, first printings of Harry Potter and I do not own this one yet. All of the other books I physically owned before 2018.

In summary, I read a total of 6 out of 8 books that I either owned before 2018 or received in a sub box. This means I exactly met my goal of 75% for this month!

For the entire year, 11 books out of 15 meet this goal for a total of 73%, which is pretty good so far! There is one book I am counting that I own but have misplaced, since I still technically owned it before 2018.

Unhaul books.

I actually unhauled around 8 books this month. I can barely believe it.

Reduce my Goodreads Want to Read shelf by 30%.

HA LET’S NOT TALK ABOUT IT.

Bookstagram Goals

Include my pupper, Moose, in more photos

I have been working on it, but I have a bunch of pictures for March that have him! Keep your eyes open. 😉

Post an average of 1.25 times a day for the entire year.

I posted 34 times over 28 days, or an average of 1.21 times a day. I almost met my goal, but February was an off month for posting. Hoping to turn this around in March!

Year to date, I have posted 80 times over 59 days, or an average of 1.36 times a day – which is absolutely perfect! I am very happy with this!


Overall, I feel really good about February! I am meeting my challenging but realistic goals.

 

What did you read in February?

4 thoughts on “February 2018 Wrap Up & Goals Update

  1. You’re doing an awesome job with your goals. I love how you figured the averages. The Bear and the Nightingale is definitely an adult book, I think the library where I volunteer has it cataloged as adult fiction.

    Like

Leave a comment